Prior to returning home

These last four days that I had left in Rosario went by super fast. I had my last two final exams on Tuesday and Wednesday. I thought these last two were my hardest, but the studying I did will hopefully pay off. Wednesday night my host family did a little goodbye party for me. We had some empanadas and other traditional food from Argentina. They did a toast and all said they were happy with having me throughout these past three months that they really enjoyed my company. They also said I was welcomed to go visit whenever I want. It was nice having all my host family together for the last time, they are great people that I will always remember. Thursday was our goodbye dinner with the professors and the students from the program. It was at a really nice restaurant. The food was delicious, and it was a good dinner over all. We had the opportunity to talk to our professors and the rest of the students. After dinner we got champagne and did a toast and everybody got the opportunity to say what they were thankful for. We all took one last group picture with everyone. At the end of the dinner it was sad saying goodbye to our new friends and great professors we had.

In the beginning I was really worried about adapting to the new culture, but I was surprised how fast I adapted. I personally think I did an excellent job interacting with my host culture. I would go to events that were going on in the city, go out with people from Rosario to weekend events and go to family birthday parties and see how they celebrate. I have mixed feelings about returning home. Part of me is sad and excited. I’m sad because I’m leaving behind a great host family that I had and local friends that I met, but hopefully some day in the future I will be back in Rosario. I am also excited to see my family and friends from back home.

m
m4
m2
m3

Leave a comment